Founder & Honorary Chairman

Chung Mong Joon

Dr. M.J. Chung

Dr. M.J. CHUNG is the founder and honorary chairman of the Asan Institute for Policy Studies.


He is also the chairman of the board of trustees of the Asan Foundation, the largest philanthropic organization in Korea, and the honorary chairman of Ulsan University. In 2011, he launched the Asan Nanum (˝sharing˝) Foundation which seeks to foster entrepreneurship among young Koreans.


Dr. Chung served seven terms in the National Assembly of the Republic of Korea. He was chairman of the Grand National Party (Ruling Party) from 2009-2010, and was a presidential candidate in 2002. He served as vice president of FIFA (Federation Internationale de Football Association), and as co-chairman of the Korean Organizing Committee for the 2002 Korea-Japan FIFA World Cup.


Dr. Chung received his B.A. in economics from Seoul National University, an M.S. from the Sloan School of Management at MIT, and a Ph.D. in international relations from the School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS) at the Johns Hopkins University.



The Promise of Liberal Democracy, The Promise of Market Economy, The Promise of Fair Society (Midasbooks Publishers, 2012)
Conversations with Leaders (Prume Publishers, 2012)
My Challenges, My Passions (Gimm-Young Publishers, Inc., 2011)
This I Say To Japan (Gimm-Young Publishers, Inc., 2001)
The government-business relationship of Japan (The Korean Economy Daily, 1995)
Business ideology (University of Ulsan Press, 1982)



“Dealing with Nuclear North Korea: South Korea’s Option”, a Paper posted on M. J.’s blog January 31, 2016 and February 14, 2016
“East Asian Geopolitics: A Korean Perspective”, a Speech delivered at the Walter H. Shorenstein Asia-Pacific Research Center, Stanford University, May 15, 2015
“Thinking the Unthinkable on the Korean Peninsula Ⅱ: Nuclear North Korea & Reunification, a Speech delivered at the Dean’s Forum, the School of Advanced International Studies, The Johns Hopkins University, Washington, D.C., January 30, 2014
“Nuclear North Korea and National Security”, a Speech delivered during an interpellation session on Foreign Affairs, Unification, and National Security at the National Assembly, November 20, 2013
“Thinking the Unthinkable on the Korean Peninsula”, a Keynote delivered at the 2013 Carnegie International Nuclear Policy Conference, Washington, D.C., April 9, 2013
“Korea’s New Security Paradigm”, a Lecture delivered at the School of Advanced International Studies, The Johns Hopkins University, March 29, 2011
“Issues on Korea – American Economic Cooperation”, a Paper presented at the Conference on Peace and Prosperity on North-East Asia, Center of Strategic and International Studies(CSIS), Georgetown University, Washington, D.C., April, 1984



Lee Joon-gyu

Lee Joon-gyu

Ambassador Lee Joon-gyu is the Chairman at the Asan Institute for Policy Studies. Amb. Lee had served for almost 40 years as a career diplomat. Previously, he served as the Korean Ambassador to Japan from July 2016 to October 2017 during which he successfully managed the bilateral relationship between Korea and Japan. He was also the Ambassador to India from 2012 to 2015 and to New Zealand from 2006 to 2009. From 2010 to 2012, he was the Chancellor of the Institute of Foreign Affairs and National Security(IFANS) which is the training and research arm of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs(MOFA), Republic of Korea. While serving as Consul-General in the Embassy at Beijing, China from 2001 to 2004, he successfully handled North Korean refugees matters. He was also the Ambassador for Overseas Koreans and Consular Affairs, MOFA.


Currently, Amb. Lee is also the Chairman of the Korean Council on Foreign Relations. He also holds the President of the India Forum in Korea and a Vice President of the Korea-Japan Friendship Association.


Amb. Lee received his B.A. and M.A. in Law from Seoul National University in 1976 and 1978 respectively. He passed the High Diplomatic Service Examination and joined the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in 1978. For his life-long dedication to public service, he received the Order of National Service Merit in 2003.


Academic Background

M.A. in Law, Seoul National University
B.A. in Law, Seoul National University



Choi Kang

Choi Kang

Dr. CHOI Kang is the President at the Asan Institute for Policy Studies.
Previously, he was the dean of Planning and Assessment at the Korean National Diplomatic Academy. In 2012, Dr. Choi served as the president at the Institute of Foreign Affairs and National Security (IFANS). He was also a professor and director general for American Studies at IFANS, a research fellow at the Korea Institute for Defense Analyses, and senior director for Policy Planning and Coordination on the National Security Council Secretariat. He holds several advisory board memberships including: the Committee on Foreign Affairs, Trade, and Unification of the National Assembly; Ministry of National Defense; Ministry of Unification; Air Force Development Committee; and the National Unification Advisory Council. Dr. Choi was also a South Korean delegate to the Four-Party Talks. He writes extensively on the ROK-US alliance, North Korean military affairs, inter-Korean relations, crisis management, and multilateral security cooperation.
Dr. Choi received his B.A. from Kyunghee University, M.A. from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, and his Ph.D. in political science from Ohio State University.


Academic Background

Ph.D. in Political Science, The Ohio State University
M.A. in Political Science, University of Wisconsin-Madison
B.A. in English Language and Literature, Kyunghee University


Board of Trustees

Lee Hong-Koo

Chairman, Seoul Forum for International Affairs; Former Prime Minister, Republic of Korea

Wi Sung-lac

Former Korean Ambassador to the Russian Federation; Former Chief Nuclear Envoy to the Six-Party Talks, Republic of Korea

Jung Seung-Jo

Chairman, Korea-US Alliance Foundation; Former Chairman R.O.K joint Chiefs of Staff

Ahn Ho-Young

President, University of North Korean Studies, Former Korean Ambassador to the United States

Lee Sook Jong

Professor, Department of Public Administration, Sung Kyun Kwan University

Cheong Young-Rok

Professor of Economic Development, Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University

Choi Kang

President, The Asan Institute for Policy Studies

Lee Chulwoo

Professor of Law, Yonsei University

Park Cheol-Hee

Professor of Japanese Politics, Graduate School of International Studies, Seoul National University

Park Sung Hee

Professor, Department of Communications and Media, Ewha Womans University

Hong Yong Pyo

Professor, Department of Political Science and International Studies, Hanyang University;
Former Minister, Ministry of Unification, Republic of Korea

Lee Keun-Gwan

Professor of International Law, Seoul National University

Kim Chunsoo (Auditor)

Executive Director, Samdo Accounting Firm

Oh Se heon (Auditor)

President, Korea Shipbuilding & Offshore Engineering

International Advisory Board

Edwin J. Feulner

Heritage Foundation

George Packard

United States-Japan Foundation

Guy Sorman


John Chipman

International Institute for Strategic Studies

Karl Kaiser

Harvard University

Michael Armacost

Asia Foundation

Michael J. Sandel

Harvard University

Paul Wolfowitz

U.S.-Taiwan Business Council; American Enterprise Institute for Public Policy Research

Victoria Curzon-Price

University of Geneva

Wang Jisi

Peking University

Yoriko Kawaguchi

General Assembly of Liberal Democratic Party Members in the House of Councillors