Past Events


On May 25, 2012, the Asan Institute for Policy Studies co-hosted the “Future of the ROK-U.S. Alliance” Strategic Dialogue with the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS). The meeting was conducted under the Chatham House rule. 

The list of participants for both Korean and U.S. delegations is as follows:


Korean Delegation (in alphabetical order):


1.      BONG Youngshik

Senior Research Fellow, The Asan Institute for Policy Studies


2.      CHOI Kang

President, Institute of Foreign Affairs and National Security (IFANS), Korea National Diplomatic Academy (KNDA)


3.      HAHM Chaibong

President, The Asan Institute for Policy Studies


4.      HONG Kyu-Dok

Deputy Minister, Office of Defense Reform, Ministry of National Defense, Republic of Korea


5.      KIM Changsu

Director of Center for Security and Strategy, Korea Institute for Defense Analyses (KIDA)


6.      KIM Taewoo

President, Korean Institute for National Unification (KINU)


7.      LEE Dong Sun

Associate Professor, Korea University


8.      RHEE Sang-Woo

President and CEO, New Asia Research Institute (NARI)


9.      SHEEN Seongho

Associate Professor, Seoul National University


10.  SHIN Beomchul

Director of North Korean Military Research Division, KIDA



U.S. Delegation (in alphabetical order):


1.      Victor CHA

Senior Adviser and Korea Chair, CSIS


2.      Michael GREEN

Senior Adviser and Japan Chair, CSIS


3.      John HAMRE

President and CEO, CSIS


4.      Chuck JONES

Director of Asia-Pacific Corporate International Business Development, Lockheed Martin


5.      Bruce KLINGNER

Senior Research Fellow, The Heritage Foundation