National Commentaries

The New Southern Policy (NSP) aims to elevate Korea’s strategic ties with the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN), including its member states, and with India, in the process cooperating with Korea’s four major diplomatic partners: The United States, China, Japan, and Russia. It is a novel attempt to put ASEAN member states (AMS) and India at the center of Korea’s foreign policy agenda. The NSP was first announced in November 2017 in Indonesia by President Moon, proclaiming a vision of a “people-centered community of peace and prosperity” with three communities centered on people, prosperity, and peace. The Presidential Committee on New Southern Policy, which was established in August 2018, announced promotion strategies in November 2018 after its 1st plenary meeting. At the 2nd plenary meeting in April 2019, 50 key projects under 16 initiatives were determined. To date, a total of 57 key projects have been implemented following the addition of seven projects.

Read full article at
facebook share twitter share google+ share